Utah State Vehicle Inspection
What is a Vehicle Inspection:
Vehicle inspection is a procedure mandated by national or subnational governments in many countries, in which a vehicle is inspected to ensure that it conforms to regulations governing safety, and emissions, which for the state of Utah it is both. Typical intervals are every two years and every year. An inspection decal or inspection sticker is a type of sticker placed on the vehicle’s windshield when it passes inspection.
In Utah, proof of inspection is required before a vehicle license or license plate can be issued or renewed. In others, once a vehicle passes inspection, a decal is attached to the windshield, and police can enforce the inspection law by seeing whether the vehicle displays an up-to-date decal. In the case of a vehicle lacking a windshield ( a trailer or motorcycle), the decal is typically attached to the vehicle body or license plate.
Limited Time Special:
With the purchase of a $90 maintenance plan or more Safety and Emissions Inspections are FREE. “Skip the lines” we have on the spot renewal. Schedule your service with us today. For more information about Safety Inspections call Used Car Supermarket Service Department at (888) 742-8237
|2015 Safety Requiremenets||2015 Emissions Requirements|
|2012 or newer - Not Required||2014 or newer - Not Required|
|2011 - Required||2013 - Required|
|2010 - 2008 -Not Required||2012 - Not Required|
|2007 - Required||2011 - Required|
|2006 - Not Required||2010 - Not Required|
|2005 and older Required||2009 - 1968 - Required|
|1967 and older - Not Required|
Utah State Safety Inspections
The state of Utah has safety inspection requirements for cars, trucks and on-highway motorcycles based on the following requirements. Vehicles with model years four, eight, and ten years old require a safety inspection. Vehicles with model years ten years old and older must pass safety inspections every year.
When receiving a Safety Inspection:
A safety inspection may be made no more than two months prior to the renewal of the registration. You must have your current registration at the time of inspection. If repair work is required in order to pass inspection, bring it in to Larry H Miller Used Car Supermarket. When vehicles are repaired within 15 days, Used Car Supermarket serving Sandy, Murray, Orem, and Ogden will re-inspect your vehicle at no additional cost.
Utah State Emission Inspections
All vehicles registered in Davis, Salt Lake, Utah and Weber counties with model years less than six years old are required to have an emission test once every two years. Vehicles with model years six years old and older (to 1967) must have an emission test every year. Emission certificates are not required for vehicles with model years 1967 or older.